Comedy Mentalism Mind Reading – Name Deck Gag Prediction – The Mentalists Cook Book DVDs with Jonathan Royle

I personally think that a touch of comedy is a good thing in Mentalism especially at the start of the show for gaining rapport with the audience.

As an example of this here’s a routine I use at the start of my show which is inspired by an original idea I saw Max Maven teach in his lecture in the early 90’s at Blackpool Magic Convention, with a few slight alterations by myself.

Its an easily adaptable idea, which I have in the past also used to tie in with and promote product names of items sold/manufactured by the company that has employed me.

Anyhow take a look at the video, its not belly aching hilarious, its just a spot of unexpected light hearted humour at the start of the show which I have found helps knock the audiences guard down and gets them onside and more attentative for what’s to come.

I Hope you enjoy the clip and get some inspiration from it, although obviously I claim originality and rights on the routine as its performed here:

Oh and for the record the dropping of the prediction which seems to be an accident was all pre-planned and is all part of the humour and also psychology I use to knock the audience off guard for the truly amazing stuff that’s then to follow.

This kind of use of Psychology to manipulate your audiences is something I will be discussing in depth in my forthcoming “Mentalists Cook Book” DVD package which is due for release in mid August 2012.

To be sure of being one of the first to hear about the release of this dvd set be sure to add me on facebook at http://www.facebook.com/alexthehypnotist/

You can also check out my other Mentalism Performance videos on my youtube channel of http://www.youtube.com/user/celebrityhypnotist

Leave a Reply

